In The Loving Memory Of My Grand Ma

YoungOldHands-1024x682

I am roaming right now way back in my past. About 9 years ago. When I was a little girl and I remember my whole family used to visit my uncle’s house where my Grand Ma lived. We use to be so excited the day we had to go there. My mom used to dress us up nice. And as we entered the house, My aunt and uncle came to the door to welcome us and we ran towards the bed of my Grand ma. She was always waiting for us already. She used to kiss me and my brothers on the forehead. And then used to take out some money from her pocket, very new shinning currency and give it to us. We felt so happy to have it. I sit around my grand ma on her bed all day till we went back.

And I remember once she came at our house to stay for some days. I use to sing some religious words to her and she listened carefully and corrected me where I was wrong. She tried to learn those words from me. And when she went back at uncle’s, I use to say to my mom that I can still hear my Grand ma’ s voice in our house and my mom use to smile at me. I slept with her and she told me stories. I still know the stories by heart. There were two stories one about a girl and one about a couple . She used to tell these stories again and again to me until I sleep.

Then I remember going to her house almost 7 years ago. I was in 9th class and somehow mature than before. I use to sit with her and she asked about things . about my studies, about my fathers relatives. I asked her about her past and she told me she was a kid when they people traveled to our country and settled here at the time of independence. My mom use to tell me she has passed a very hard life but she was so strong. My Grand pa died when my mom was young. And my Grand Ma did everything for her children that she could.

And there was that day when we got a phone call that she is sick and we should gather at my uncle’s. I was sent to school and all my family went there. When they reached she was taking her last breaths. After a minute or two she died. I didn’t even get to see her last time alive. I was at my relatives when my mom called me from there and told me about her death. I was not sensible enough at that time but I loved her so much. I started crying . My dad came and took me to that place where she was lying. I still can see her face in front of my eyes. It was peaceful and quiet. Every one was crying there. My mom was crying so hard and it was hard for me to see her and my Grand ma too at the same time like this. I sat down near her death bed. I touched her face with my finger. I found myself crying loud ….so loud. I cried and cried and I heard some women saying something would happen to her stop her from crying but I never cared or listened. There were tears and pain everywhere. And then they took her away.

I missed her so much. I don’t really remember what happened after we came back home but I remember I use to recite some verses for her and use to pray for her everyday. I don’t really have many childhood memories but the memories with my grand ma are quiet clear.

Sometimes we realize the importance of people when they are gone. Sometimes we lose important people before they can be more important to us in future. I lost my Grand ma so early. There is a place in my heart that has a special respect and love for my grand ma. I always wish to have someone like my Grand ma , so loving and sweet and to with I can take advice and discuss my matters. I always like old people and she was my grand ma. I loved her the most. Good people go back from this world early. She was a lovely person. She was beautiful.Words are not sufficient to describe how valuable she was.

We can’t change fate. We have no control on what is already written. We can just sit around and see what life gives us and what it takes away from us. It took away my grand ma when I needed her the most. Death is the last chapter in time, but the first chapter in eternity.Reality sucks sometimes but there is no other way but to accept it.Β I can’t forget her love, care and indulgence. I love you Grand Ma and I pray for you here on earth. I hope you are happy and satisfied there.

I love you and I miss you so much and will miss you through the rest of my life…….!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

34 Comments

  1. A touching post.. I have my memories of grand mother too. My daadi, paternal grandmother.. She died some years back. Our feelings are thus, mutual. She sometimes stayed at our house, at other times in my uncle’s. She got a stroke (faalij) and her condition was heart-rending. My parents were off for Umrah when she died. We siblings had visited her just that night, fortunately. It was Ramadhan that time. Ramadhan has come again! These memories shall always stay…
    Heartiest condolence for your loss. May her soul rest in peace and May Allah shower His bounties! Ameen. =)

    Reply
    • I feel sad to hear about your recent loss…. She was lucky to get the month of Ramadan to go to Allah πŸ™‚ You should be happy about that πŸ™‚ A few people get this ! My condolences …. She will get a place in heaven InshAllah ! And Happy Ramadan to you πŸ™‚
      Thanks so much for your prayers….These are the best gifts we can give to our loved ones ! And Ameen ! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. This was very touching. Made me reminisce about my memories with Nano.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much….I was missing her last night so thought of giving words to it ! Love πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  3. Always, Geraldine

     /  July 10, 2013

    this is precious. and so pure.

    Reply
  4. Great story about your grandma.

    Reply
  5. In you, your grandma will love forever ❀

    Reply
  6. Blessings and sincere thoughts to you in the loss of your Grand Ma. She will always be with you in your heart – neither illness nor age can take her away from there.

    Reply
    • thank you so much for the condolences !! Means a lot ! I appreciate your kind words πŸ™‚ Love xx

      Reply
  7. Losing a loved one.. that’s the harshest reality of life. They are no longer around us but we still remember them in the little things we do, the little thoughts we think.. they live in us I guess πŸ™‚
    Beautifully written piece, I’m sure your Grandma is watching down from above πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Awh thanks so much for such sweet words ! Yes I agree they still live inside us ! I hope she realize how much I love her πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for stopping by and admiring me….Means a lot ! πŸ™‚ Keep visiting ! xx

      Reply
      • Yes I am sure she knows πŸ™‚
        And it was my pleasure. I’ve followed you now so will keep visiting.
        Best wishes!

      • I am honored truly ! Thank you so much for following me and for the wishes….:) Love xx

  8. Khaula Nazir

     /  July 14, 2013

    This is all so…touching and beautifully sad.
    I am sorry for that.
    Its hard to let go off people you love, Especially when they are so close to you….

    Reply
  9. You’re magical.
    I pray your grandma rests well in Jannah.. We all have to go, that’s life. Someday, your own grandkids might be writing something similiar…. But the good part is, you have great memories of and with her. And that you got to know her. She was there for you in your mature age. Many don’t get even that..! So you’re lucky to have known such a loving, caring, strong person. Be happy.
    And read this too.., you might find it comforting and relatable : http://theordinaryblog2.wordpress.com/2012/11/14/coming-in-and-going-out/

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your prayers ! Yes you are right…death is the ultimate reality ! I have good memories with her but I wish she was there for me when I really needed her ! I wish to have some more memories with her 😦 I am going to read it what you suggested now.
      Thanks for the sweet comments πŸ™‚ Glad you read all my new posts πŸ™‚ Thanks so much ! xx

      Reply
  10. My lovely grandma passed away about a couple month ago and I feel devastated. I love her anyway. Even when I knew the truth that she’s my Mom’s step mother but I don’t care. She took care of me always and loved me. It’s sad to know that I can’t spend Ramadhan and Eid with her again πŸ˜₯ she used to give me her handmade cookies but now she’s gone. I surely know that Allah gave her a better place up there in heaven. She’s happy now πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I am sad on your loss ! And yes she is in heaven and she is happy there InshAllah !! πŸ™‚ That’s the spirit I love it !
      And yeah the feeling of losing someone for the rest of your life has no match ! it is hard I know that ! But Allah tala will give you sabar eventually inshAllah πŸ™‚ You will have her cookies in Jannat dont worry πŸ™‚ Love xx

      Reply
  11. Such a loving tribute to your Grandma! She would be so touched to know how she impacted your life. Because of you a part of her lives on!
    Thank you for sharing!
    xoxo

    Reply
  12. Hey guess what? Isme pehla comment mera hy aur mjhy yad bhi nhi tha ye post. Ab wapis parha aur wapis se usi jagah pohanch gyi. I loved reading your childhood memories, though the death part was painful, of course. Death always is. “The last and the first chapter..” You know what part I love the most? This:
    “We can’t change fate. We have no control on what is already written. We can just sit around and see what life gives us and what it takes away from us.”
    We can’t change what fate holds. But we can hope. We can pray. Though I’m sure we can do more too, if we like. Dunya khamakhwa nhi banai gyi.
    Grandparents are lovely creations. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Aww Maria I just saw your diggings in my blog and it feels awesome πŸ˜‰ Wesay tumhain kya soojhi ? πŸ˜€
      Hey yes I didn’t remember your comment either and read it again and it felt the same way it previously did, so touching.
      You are right Maria…We can’t change our final fate but we can change the ways and paths to reach it…we can make the paths easier by Dua’s and appropriate decisions.
      Duniya isi leye tu banae gae k insaan pehchaan le duniya ko aur isk bananay walay ko πŸ™‚
      And yes verily grand parents are lovely creations πŸ™‚
      Love you and thank you so much inay puranay posts perhnay ka ! xx

      Reply
  13. You write from the heart. Your Grandma was a blessed person. May her soul rest in peace. Ameen.

    Reply

I Would Love To Hear From You !

Womenous

Recipe - Beauty - Hairstyle - Wedding - Decoration Ideas

Halbe&Gaudin

From Bhuj to Belavala

Emotions Overflowing

β€œEverything you can imagine is real.”

hareemlutfi's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Talking Crap Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Diary of a quirky girl

Filling your world randomly with sunshine

Ramblings of a Dilettante

"You must go on. I can't go on. I'll go on." – Beckett

All Those Small Things

Something New, Every Day

Ironic-Dimensions

I say, I save - I think, I ink

Scribes of Seldomville

Cheechun KI Malliyan Ki Raaniyan.

fragments of life

Love and Meaning In Spite of Living

Caffeine Poisoning

A shot in the morning will keep you on your feet; too much, and you start rambling like me.

